Bu: Karl Newbury

I hope that this image travels the world . . .”While newspapers and television talk about the lives of celebrities, the chief of the Kayapo tribe received the worst news of his life:Dilma, “The new president of Brazil, has given approval to build a huge hydroelectric plant the third largest in the world. It is the death sentence for all the people near the river because the dam will flood 400,000 hectares of forest. More than 40,000 Indians will have to find another place to live.

The natural habitat destruction, deforestation and the disappearance of many species is a fact.”What moves me in my very bowels , making me ashamed of being part of Western culture, is the reaction of the chief of the Kayapo community when he learned of the decision—his gesture of dignity and helplessness before the advance of capitalist progress, modern predatory civilization that does not respect the differences . . .But we know that a picture is worth a thousand words, showing the reality of the true price of our bourgeois “quality of life”.

14-02-2012 To All,Thank you so much for your support and concern!

I posted this picture and article as it touched me deeply, as it has so many of you. I put it on Frontier Bushcraft’s webpage as I thought this would be the only place where most people would care. I never expected so much response from people all over the world, proving to me that there is hope for the human race after all! I have since read articles stating that reason the Chief was crying is not as I previously stated, regardless of this reason the issues at hand are still true and this picture has created a lot of awareness to these issues worldwide!

I am receiving updates from the Amazon watch website confirming that our comments and shares are creating quite a stir over there!I am just a regular guy no different to the rest of you and until now have never been actively involved in anything like this before, after seeing and reading all your responses I have since signed the petition below and will continue to do all I can for these people! Now the rest of you just have to act upon your new found awareness to these issues.

Please sign the petition below and join their newsletter to receive regular updates.http://amazonwatch.org/take-action/stop-the-belo-monte-monster-dam

Also please check out Frontier Bushcraft webpage link below where I have posted this article, it is a great source of information for people looking to learn about what it takes to survive and live like the Kayapo do. Paul Kirtley the owner has kept my picture and article on his page even after the whole world started to comment and basically take over his webpage.

Sincerely: Karl Newbury

via Karl Newbury

