The three South East Asian growth triangles are:

  • • the Indonesia-Malaysia-Singapore Growth Triangle (IMS-GT) linking Singapore with the Indonesian provinces of Riau and West Sumatra and the Malaysian state of Johor;
  • • the Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT) linking northern Sumatra in Indonesia with northern Malaysia and southern Thailand; and
  • • the Brunei-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area(BIMP-EAGA) linking Brunei Darussalam with parts of eastern Indonesia, eastern Malaysia and the southern Philippines.

Of the three, only the IMS-GT is commercially operational at present. While the other two have received political commitment, they are still at a planning stage.